About Us

This is the website of the Council for Catechetics of the Irish Bishops Conference. The Catechetics Council articulates policy and vision for the catechetical needs of Ireland, North and South, on behalf of the Episcopal Conference.   It liaises with the Episcopal Commission for Education, other Commissions of the Bishops’ Conference and with other bodies and individuals in the area of catechesis and Religious Education.  The Council for Catechetics supports the work of catechesis particularly and faith formation in general in the home, in schools and in parish as set out in Share the Good News, the National Directory for Catechesis in Ireland.


Council Membership

The members of the Council for Catechetics are:

Bishop Brendan Leahy (Chair)
Bishop William Crean
Ms. Maura Hyland
Mgr Dermot A Lane
Rev. Gareth Byrne
Sr. Antoinette Dilworth
Ms. Lily Barry
Dr. Gerry O’Connell
Dr. Cora O’Farrell
Dr. Daniel O’Connell
Dr. Aiveen Mullally
Dr Edward McGee
Ms Olivia Dolan
Rev Paul Connell (Council for Education)

Mr Patrick Logue (Executive Secretary)

Contact details:
Patrick Logue
National Director for Catechetics
Columba Centre, Maynooth, Co. Kildare